Ayurveda – The Three Doshas and Body Types

Our physical world is made up of the well-known 5 elements, which are water, fire, air, earth and ether. The knowledge of Ayurveda is not that widespread yet. It helps you to know the logic behind a cure, so you can easily understand the signs of your body. Let us introduce you to the Ayurvedic body types and their three doshas.
Ayurveda – The Three Doshas and Body Types

What are Doshas?

The doshas are forces that evolved from the five elements that make up our earth. The energies of the doshas are not entirely physical, but they are not entirely non-physical either — this reflects the connection between the mind and the body. 

According to Ayurveda, vibration is the basis of everything that exists. With that Ayurveda not only treats superficial, bodily symptoms, but also examines the energies and vibrations that control nature. If the doshas are not balanced in the body, diseases can appear on a physical and mental level. This balance is also greatly affected by conscious nutrition.


The Three Doshas Explained


  1. The Pitta Dosa

Pitta is the carrier of the element of fire and water. Its qualities are hot, light, supple, soft, acidic, clear. It controls heat and chemical processes. In its normal state, it is responsible for digestion, thermoregulation, thirst, intelligence, determination and courage. 

  1. Kapha Dosa 

Kapha is the carrier of the elements earth and water. Its qualities are oily, slow, cold, solid, as well as static. It provides a basis for the mind and supplies the body with reserve energy, stabilizing the nervous system. In case of imbalance, it manifests itself in allergies, sinusitis and mucosal diseases.

  1. Vata dosha

Vata is the carrier of the elements space and air. This dosha is responsible for all movements in the body. The movement of muscles, the central nervous system, the digestion of food and the respiratory system are under its control. Its qualities are light, agile, fast, small, rough, dry. It rules over the other two doshas, ​​so in case of illness, this dosha is likely to tip out of balance.


three doshas body types flowers and spices on table

Ayurvedic Body Types According to the Quality of the Doshas

We all have all three doshas in our body, but usually one is stronger than the others. Below you can find out which dosha is dominant in your body.


Pitta body type

  • Average height and build
  • Light or red, oily skin, prone to pimples and rashes
  • Sensitive eyes, often with glasses
  • Soft, easily bleeding gums
  • Their appetite is good, often overweight
  • Prone to anger
  • Intelligent, good felfogóképességűek


Kapha body type

  • Generally, short and compact physique
  • Tend to become obese
  • Their eyes are large, their hair rich and thick
  • Do not like the cold and moisture
  • Prone to cataracts and lung diseases
  • Loyal
  • Conservative, do not like changes
  • Slow thinkers, but with good memory 


Vata body type

  • Medium height, usually skinny
  • Thin bones, underdeveloped muscles
  • Skin is cracked and usually dark toned
  • Teeth are not always regular
  • Digestion variable, may suffer from constipation, bloating
  • They do not sleep well
  • Physically energetic and active
  • Mentally fast and talkative 
  • Memory is not good
  • Difficulty to make decisions


Conscious eating can help a lot to keep these energies in balance. In our next article we’ll give you some tips and advice on which diet to follow.

In the meantime, we wish everyone a pleasant yoga and effective self-improvement.


Lost your password


By clicking on “Register Now” button you are accepting the Terms & Conditions